अब आप न्यूज्ड हिंदी में पढ़ सकते हैं। यहाँ क्लिक करें
Home » Beyond Metros » Manipur: Another Congress MLA leaves party before assembly polls

Manipur: Another Congress MLA leaves party before assembly polls

By Newsd
Updated on :

Another prominent Congress MLA and former minister Francis Ngajokpa from Manipur has resigned from the party and his post on Thursday. He cited the reason as ‘pressure from workers’ behind his step and this MLA from Tadubi constituency in Senapati district, was elected twice on a Congress ticket since 2002 and has held various ministerial portfolios since then.

Recently,  a meeting was held at Maram town  where it was resolved that Francis would gain support only if he resigns from the party.With Francis’ resignation, three senior Congress leaders and MLAs have left the ruling front till now.

The other two are senior-most Congress leader and former food and civil supplies, education and public health engineering minister Yumkham Erabot of Wangkhei constituency and former irrigation and flood control minister Nongthombam Biren.

Erabot left the party on September 12 and joined the BJP, while Biren, who quit the Congress and resigned from the post of MLA on October 6, is yet to join any party.