अब आप न्यूज्ड हिंदी में पढ़ सकते हैं। यहाँ क्लिक करें
Home » Election » Mizoram: An Assembly without a woman representative

Mizoram: An Assembly without a woman representative

Published on :
Mizoram: An Assembly without a woman representative

New Delhi: The Mizoram Assembly results are out and ironically there is not a single woman legislator in the current House. All the Fifteen female candidates have lost the November 28 election.

Mizoram is a state where numbers of female voters are larger than Male voters.

Mizo National Front has won the Assembly election 2018 and bagged 26 seats out of 40 member House. Ironically it has not fielded a single woman candidate in this election.

Out of the total 209 candidates, fifteen were women- the highest ever so far to contest in the assembly polls.

There are 7,07,395 voters in the state and around 6,20,332 voters exercised their voting rights on November 28. Over fifty percent of voters were women which are around 3,20,401 and yet not a single women representation in the state assembly.

As per political experts, the failures of women winning the Assembly election was due to Mizo society which is strictly patriarchal and the major political party’s poor allocation of tickets to woman candidates.

The Bhartiya Janata Party has given tickets to six women, the maximum number of tickets to female candidates and won only one seat.

‘Zoramthar’ is a religious group and had fielded five women candidates.

Apart from MNF, the People’s Representation for Identify and Status of Mizoram (PRISM) and the National People’s Party (NPP) also didn’t give the ticket to women candidate.

State Cooperation Minister in the incumbent government of Congress Vanlalawmpuii Chawngthu was the sole female candidate and also lost the election.

Other parties like Zoram People’s Movement (ZPM) had fielded two women contestants, Nationalist Congress Party (NCP) had given only one female candidate in the state assembly election.

All the 15 female candidates managed to get altogether only 14,482 votes with Lalrinpuii of ZPM secured the highest votes among all.

Lalrinpuii secured the maximum number of 3,3991 votes out of all the female candidates. She contested from Lunglei South constituency.

Congress’s Vanlalawmpuii Chawngthu a former State Cooperation minister came second in the list and secured 3,815 votes.

Even in the 2013 assembly, there were six women candidates and no one was elected to the state assembly.

Chawngthu contested the bye-election from Hrangturzo seat after the Chief Minister Lal Thanhawala who was elected from two seats vacated this seat and came victorious.


Also read: 

Women representation in Telangana assembly dips down to 5%

Mizoram Election: MNF Candidate asset jumped nearly 800 percent in last 5 years

Mizoram Assembly Elections 2018: Seat wise results

MNF wins Mizoram, Congress’ last Northeast state


Latests Posts

Editor's Choice