अब आप न्यूज्ड हिंदी में पढ़ सकते हैं। यहाँ क्लिक करें
Home » India » RS poll results: Will move court against EC’s decision, says Gujarat CM

RS poll results: Will move court against EC’s decision, says Gujarat CM

By Newsd
Updated on :
RS poll results: Will move court against EC's decision, says Gujarat CM
Image: DNA

The Gujarat chief minister, Vijay Rupani has expressed disapproval over the Election Commission’s decision of disqualifying two rebels Congress MLAs over cross-voting on Wednesday. He said that in the coming days, the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) will move the court for justice. “Don’t agree with EC’s decision. In coming days we will fight a legal battle and will get justice,” he said.

Veteran Congress leader, Ahmed Patel retained his Rajya Sabha seat by winning 44 votes on late Tuesday night. Besides, BJP president Amit Shah and Union minister Smriti Irani also emerged victorious in the Gujarat Rajya Sabha election. Notably, Shah will enter the Parliament as a member for the first time. On the other hand, Irani will return for a second term.

Voting for the three Rajya Sabha seats was conducted on Tuesday. The influential political secretary to Congress president Sonia Gandhi, the BJP Chief, Smriti Irani and ex-congress leader Balwantsinh Rajput from BJP were in the fray.

Patel’s victory is seen as a major success for the Congress and a blow for the BJP. “This is not just my victory. It is a defeat of the most blatant use of money power, muscle power and abuse of state machinery,” Patel tweeted.

Patel’s victory came after the Election Commission of India delivered a huge setback to the BJP by declaring the votes of two Congress MLAs, Bhola Bhai Gohil and Raghavji Bhai Patel, invalid. Both had revolted against the party and voted for the BJP candidate.

“I want to thank each and every MLA who voted for me despite unprecedented intimidation and pressure from BJP. They voted for an inclusive India,” Ahmed Patel has tweeted.


Latests Posts

Editor's Choice