अब आप न्यूज्ड हिंदी में पढ़ सकते हैं। यहाँ क्लिक करें
Home » Economy » 22 states abolish check posts after GST rollout

22 states abolish check posts after GST rollout

By Newsd
Updated on :
States abolish check posts after GST rollout
Image: NDTV

Just three days after the GST rollout, as many as 22 states have removed check posts. With the implementation of Goods and Services Tax GST, states such as Delhi, West Bengal and Maharashtra have abolished check-posts; while states, including Assam, Punjab, Himachal Pradesh, and some north-eastern states, are also in the process of abolishing check posts, a finance ministry statement said.

The other important states which have abolished the check post include Uttar Pradesh, Bihar, Haryana, Gujarat, Madhya Pradesh, Andhra Pradesh, Karnataka, Kerala and Tamil Nadu.

State border check posts scrutinise material and location-based tax compliance, resulting in delays in delivery of goods and cause environmental pollution as trucks queue up for clearance. With the abolition of check posts, the long queues often witnessed at state borders will not be seen.

The main aim to implement GST from July 1, was to make India a single market where goods and services can flow seamlessly. Although on the third day of GST implementation, feared chaos and disruption predicted by experts have not materialised. However, there is a confusion about how to tax various goods and services among retailers and customers.