अब आप न्यूज्ड हिंदी में पढ़ सकते हैं। यहाँ क्लिक करें
Home » Election » Telangana: Several CM probables within Congress likely to provide setback

Telangana: Several CM probables within Congress likely to provide setback

By Newsd
Published on :

Ahead of Telangana assembly elections, Congress who has not declared its Chief Minister candidate for the upcoming electoral battle is facing resentments from various sides over the issue. During 2014 elections, the competition among Congress leaders was completely evident and costed the whole battle.

According to the sources, incumbent Telangana Rashtra Samiti (TRS) has already declared K Chandrashekhar Rao (KCR) as its CM candidate. Conversely, there is uncertainty among the voters over Congress CM’s candidate, following which Congress could face the heat in upcoming elections scheduled for December 7.

“Congressmen are fighting amongst themselves on who of them will become the chief minister. Everyone thinks they are the most eligible” said KT Rama Rao in a meeting.

Speaking on the lines of Chief Minister’s face, AICC In-charge of Telangana, R C Khuntia stated that “TPCC (Telangana Pradesh Congress Committee) President, Uttam Kumar Reddy will lead the campaign but the Chief Ministerial candidate will be finalised after the election”.

Telangana Congress has several Chief Minister’s candidates, which could create a jolt within the party.

Telangana Pradesh Congress Committee (TPCC) President Uttam Kumar Reddy is the front-runner for the post of Chief Minister within Congress. Under the regime of Uttam Kumar Reddy, Congress has evolved at the grassroots level. Apart from Uttam, K Jana Reddy is the most senior leader in Telangana Congress and latest name, who made into the list, is Revanth Reddy. K Jana Reddy is an eminent leader of Congress in Telangana and holds a cordial relation with the central leadership.

Revanth Reddy has already declared himself as Congress Chief Minister candidate in a public meeting at Kodangal and stated that “The top leadership of the Congress party called me to Delhi and gave me an important position to lead the Congress”.

The dispute within the Grand Alliance

Congress-led grand opposition comprised of Telugu Desam Party (TDP), Telangana Jana Samithi (TJS) and Communist Party of India (CPI). As per the seat sharing agreement of grand alliance of Telangana for 2018 polls, Congress will contest on 93 seats, TDP 14, TJS 8 and CPI 3, for the 119-member Telangana assembly.

However, on Wednesday, TJS declared that party will fight on 12 constituencies and stated that “TJS will contest on the assembly seats including Dubbaka, Medak, Malkajgiri, Amberpet, Siddipet, Warangal East, Vardhannapeta, Asifabad, station Ghanpur, Jangaon, Mahbubnagar and Miryalguda”.

Party further told media “TJS is contesting only in those constituencies where it is strong”.


Telangana Polls: Has KCR’s decision of early polls backfired? Congress seems to be gaining ground