Election, Lok Sabha Elections 2019

Sirsa Lok Sabha Constituency, Haryana: Current MP, Candidates, Polling Date and Election Results

Sirsa is one of the ten constituencies in Haryana to go for polls in the sixth phase of the Lok Sabha elections 2019 on Sunday, May 12. It is situated in the north west part of Haryana.

In the 2019 General elections, Bharatiya Janata Party has given ticket to Sunita Duggal, Ashok Tanwar is the Congress hope, while Charanjit Singh Rori is Indian National Lok Dal’s (INLD) candidate. JJP leader Nirmal Singh Malhadi is the AAP-JJP alliance candidate.

Sirsa Lok Sabha constituency comprises of following Vidhan Sabha (legislative assembly) segments: Narwana, Tohana, Fatehabad, Ratia, Kalanwali, Dabwali, Rania, Sirsa, Ellenabad.

Sitting MP, party: Charanjeet Singh Rori, INLD

Winning margin in 2014: 115,736

Runner up name, party: Ashok Tanwar, Congress

Number of voters in 2014: 1,279,105

Percentage of votes polled in 2014: 77.03%

Number of polling booths in 2014: 1,678

Key candidates for Lok Sabha 2019

  • Charanjit Singh Rori (INLD)
  • Sunita Duggal (BJP)
  • Ashok Tanwar (Congress)
  • Nirmal Singh Malhadi (JJP)

Important dates to remember for Phase VI

Issue of Notification April 16
Last date for filing nomination April 23
Scrutiny of nomination April 24
Last date for withdrawal of candidature April 26
Date Of Poll May 12
Date of Result May 23

In Phase VI for the voting for the 17th Lok Sabha, elections will take place in 59 Lok Sabha constituencies across 7 states. Voting for this phase will take place on May 12.

In the 2014 Lok Sabha elections, the Bharatiya Janata Party won a remarkable total of 7 seats, while the Congress party was reduced from 9 seats to 1, the INLD registered 2 seats to their name.

The turnout in the last general election in 2014 was more than 66%, up from 45% in 1951 when the first election was held.

In a first, candidates with criminal antecedents will have to publish information in this regard in newspapers and through TV channels on three occasions during the campaign period. The Electronic Voting Machines (EVM) and postal ballot papers would for the first time carry the photograph of all the candidates to help voters identify the political leaders in the fray.

Kurukshetra Lok Sabha Constituency, Haryana: Current MP, Candidates, Polling Date and Election Results

Latest Update